Prominent Club Members

Here are some famous former members of the Eccentric Club:

His Majesty King George IV, HRH Prince of Wales, Hugh Lowther (The “Yellow” Earl of Lonsdale), F.E.Smith (The Earl of Birkenhead), Charles Stanhope (The Earl of Harrington), The Earl of Derby, William Lamb (Viscount Melbourne), Viscount Burnham, Viscount Alexander, The Marquess Curzon of Kedleston, Frederick Hervey (The Marquess of Bristol), Bernard Delfont (Baron Delfont), George Hanger (Baron Coleraine), Edward Douglas-Scott-Montagu (Baron Montagu of Beaulieu), Henry Peter Brougham (Baron Brougham and Vaux), Thomas Denman (Baron Denman), John Campbell (Baron Campbell), Sir Charles Wyndham, Sir Frederick Wells, Sir James Miller, Sir Herbert Beerbohm Tree, Sir George Alexander, Sir Joseph Lyons, Sir Frederick Pollock, Sir Walter de Frece, Sir Seymour Hicks, Sir Augustus Harris, Sir Henry J. Wood, Sir Landon Ronald, Sir Gerald du Maurier, Sir John Martin Harvey, Sir Cedric Hardwicke, Sir Alfred Butt, Sir Squire Bancroft, Sir Bill McAlpine, Charles James Fox, William Pitt the Younger, Richard Brinsley Sheridan, Theodore Hook, James Sheridan Knowles, John Adolphus, James Whittle, James Brownley, Peter Finnerty, “Master‟ William Betty, Mr Serjeant Spankie, Mr Serjeant Murphy, Pierce Egan, William MacGillivray, Robert Lloyd, Edward Quin Sr, John Le Hay, John Gale Jones, George Weguelin, William M. Thackeray, Charles Dibdin, H. Montague-Bates, George Milne, W.E.Garstin, Dudley Hardy, Lionel Brough, John Hollingshead, Henry Ainley, George Robey, Dan Leno, Little Tich, Bud Flanagan, Tommy Trinder, Ben Warris, Joe Davis, George Graves, Talbot O'Farrell, Irvine Sellar (the entrepreneur who built The Shard), Jack A. Harrison, Ernest Stuart, Jean de Paleologue, Neal Christey, Harry Homer, Walter Charig, Fred Terry, Henry Cooper, Bill Gavin, Dick Upex, Jack Trevor, Joseph S. Munden, Joe Coral, Max Bygraves, Noel Miller-Cheevers, Richard Afton, Ronnie Carroll, Alexander Talbot Rice, Vaughan Grylls, Tolga Safer (“Harry Potter‟ movies), Ray Frensham (“Pirates of the Caribbean‟), David Prowse (“Star Wars‟), Daniel Lismore, Tyne O'Connell, Fiona Graham-Mackay, Peter Underwood, Irvine Sellar, Adrian Brown and many many others. In total, 35 Lord Mayors of London were Honorary Life Members of the Club.

Membership of the present club is similar to those of its many predecessors: it is an amicable mix of the aristocrats, artists (Christian Furr, Paul and Chris Czainski, Andrew Logan, Lucy Freud, Zoia Skoropadenko), actors (Patricia Quinn, Lady Stephens, the original Magenta in "The Rocky Horror Picture Show"; Jonathon Michaels (TV actor "Holby City", "Londongrad", "Harlots"; Kamay Lau, actress from "The Fifth Element", "Star Wars"), fashion designers (David Shilling, Zack McLeod-Pinsent), interior designers (Nicky Haslam), perfumers (Matthew Zhuk, creator of Ex-Idolo), writers (Henry Hemming, Ben Le Vay, Nicholas Storey, Gustav Temple, Tahir Shah, Michael Moran, Christopher Lee, Richard Lambert), poets (Colin Shaddick), musicians and performers (Peter Golding, Karl Lutchmayer, Henry de Winter, Wayne Fox, Equador Zaha, Michael 'Atters' Attree, Professor Elemental, Sally Franklin, Monica Salvi), businessmen (Brian Clivaz, Martin Miller, Gary Bowman, Francis Anthony Benevento II, Clem Chambers), sportsmen (former snooker star Ray Reardon, Rory Hunt, playing for the Royal Household Cricket Team, retired sports commentator Henry Blofeld OBE), scientists, academics, lawyers, politicians, public servants, clubland socialites and social entrepreneurs (Viktor Wynd), PR and media people.

Present Honorary Life Members include HRH The Duke of Edinburgh, HRH The Duke of Cambridge, HRH The Duke of Sussex, HRH Prince Michael of Kent, The Marquess of Bath, Viscount Woodstock, Ranald Macdonald of Clanranald and many others.